CLS Timber

CLS stands for Canadian Lumber Standard, which is a type of timber commonly used in construction and framing projects.

The term CLS does not refer to a specific type of wood species but rather to a specific grading standard for lumber that comes from various softwood species. Here are some of the commonly used softwood species that can be used for CLS:

Spruce: Spruce (Picea spp.) is a commonly used softwood species in CLS lumber. It has a light color with a straight grain and is known for its strength and dimensional stability.

Pine: Pine (Pinus spp.) is another popular softwood species used in CLS lumber. There are several varieties of pine, including Eastern White Pine and Lodgepole Pine, which are known for their strength, affordability, and aesthetic appeal.

Fir: Fir (Abies spp.) is often used in CLS construction lumber as well. Douglas Fir (Pseudotsuga menziesii) is a common species known for its strength, stability, and resistance to decay.

These softwood species are typically milled into lumber according to the Canadian Lumber Standard, which includes specifications for grading (such as size and visual appearance) and moisture content. CLS timber is commonly available in standard sizes like 2x4, 2x6, and 2x8, with straight and smooth edges.

It's important to note that CLS lumber can vary in quality and appearance depending on the specific species, grade, and supplier. It's always recommended to check with local lumber yards or suppliers to determine the specific softwood species available within the CLS designation for your region.

CLS Timber

CLS Timber and its Differences

73.55 KB

15 Jul 2023

We use cookies to give the best experience to our visitors. By using this website, you're agreeing to our use of cookies.